U-19 WC: President Kovind, PM Modi laud victorious India colts

ANI | Updated: Feb 03, 2018 20:45 IST

New Delhi [India], Feb. 03 (ANI): President Ram Nath Kovind and Prime Minister Narendra Modi have congratulated the Indian team, who crushed Australia by eight wickets to lift their overall fourth ICC U-19 World Cup, at Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui, New Zealand, on Saturday.

"Congrats to India's talented young cricket team for winning the Under-19 World Cup. Calmness and composure of our boys embellishes their skills. Proud of captain Prithvi Shaw and his mates, as well as of coach Rahul Dravid and the hard-working support staff," President Kovind wrote on Twitter.

Prime Minister Modi, on the other hand, said he was absolutely thrilled by the stupendous achievement of the U-19 team.

"Absolutely thrilled by the stupendous achievement of our young cricketers. Congratulations to them on winning the Under-19 World Cup. This triumph makes every Indian extremely proud," PM Modi tweeted.

Meanwhile, Minister of State for Youth Affairs and Sport, Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore (Retired) also wished the team, which was coached by former India captain Rahul Dravid.

"Congratulations to each and every team member of the Indian U-19 cricket team, including their captain and their coach-Rahul Dravid. I am sure, they have worked very hard which can be reflected in the way that they have won this championship," Rathore told ANI.

He also complimented the Board of Cricket for Control in India for being able to generate revenue and using the same for the betterment of the sport at the grassroots level.

"I think this is an example that other federation should follow," the minister said.

Indian opening batsman Manjot Kalra grabbed the eyeballs with his unbeaten101-run knock as the Men in Blue chased down the target of 217 in just 38.5 overs in the finals of the ICC U-19 World Cup.

It was an all-around performance from the Men in Blue as the spinners sent shivers through the Australian batsmen's spines with their magical spell, followed by a magnificent show with the bat.

Kamlesh Nagarkoti was the pick of the bowlers for India with three wickets while Ishan Porel and Shivam Mavi bagged two wickets each.

Manjot Kalra was adjudged as 'Man of the Match' while Shubman Gill was awarded 'Player of the Tournament'. (ANI)