We're looking forward to face 'talented' Kuldeep, Chahal: Williamson

ANI | Updated: Oct 15, 2017 18:30 IST

Mumbai (Maharashtra) [India], Oct. 15 (ANI): New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson has admitted that it would be a tough challenge for his team to face young 'talented' spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal in the upcoming limited overs series beginning October 18.

Kuldeep impressed in the ODI series against Australia and became the third Indian bowler to take a hat-trick. While Chahal was equally impressive in the ODI series and played a significant role in India's series win over the current world champions.

Speaking at the press conference upon their arrival in Mumbai on Sunday, Williamson heaped praise on both the spinners and said, "Both (Kuldeep and Chahal) are very talented bowlers."

"They both have been very successful. We know it will be a tough challenge, but one that guys are looking forward to."

"It's not too many Chinaman bowlers going around and those coming in have all been fairly successful. It's a challenge that the guys are looking forward to," said Williamson referring to Kuldeep," he said.

"Obviously their (Kuldeep and Chahal's) skill sets are very good, but it's important how we adapt to the surfaces," he added.

The Black Caps skipper also recalled his team's last India tour wherein they lost 2-3 in the ODI series.

He said, "It's always a tough tour coming to India as a lot of oppositions have found in recent times. To be 2-all going into that last game (at Vishakapatnam) a year ago was a good effort."

"We played some good cricket, but I don't think we displayed a complete performance going into the last game. It was disappointing. It's nice to be back here again and the guys are looking forward to the tour," he added.

India ODI Squad: Virat Kohli(c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur

New Zealand ODI squad: Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Boult, Todd Astle, Matt Henry, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, George Worker, Henry Nicholls

The three ODIs will be played in Mumbai, Pune and Kanpur on October 22, 25 and 29 respectively. The T20Is are scheduled for November 1, 4 and 7 in New Delhi, Rajkot and Thiruvananthapuram respectively. (ANI)