India withdraw from South West Asian Football Federation

ANI | Updated: Oct 30, 2018 18:46 IST

New Delhi [India], Oct 30 (ANI): India along with six other South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) members, including Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives and Pakistan pulled out of the newly-formed South West Asian Football Federation (SWAFF) with immediate effect on Monday.
"The South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) comprising Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives, Sr Lanka and Pakistan unanimously decided to pull out of the South West Asian Football Federation (SWAFF) with immediate effect on Tuesday, 30 October 2018, in a meeting held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia," an official statement of All India Football Federation (AIFF) statement read.
The development came at a time when the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) is expected to give the official recognition to SWAFF as its fifth regional federation.
"The withdrawal precedes the expected official recognition of AFC’s five Regional Federations by the AFC Congress on Wednesday, 31 October 2018," the statement added.
SWAFF, which was formed in August 2018, had held its first general assembly in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. (ANI)