Representative Image
Representative Image

New Indian football coach Igor Stimac announces 37 probables for preparatory camp

ANI | Updated: May 16, 2019 15:59 IST

New Delhi [India], May 16 (ANI): New Indian national football team coach Igor Stimac announced a list of 37 probables for India's preparatory camp for the King's Cup on Thursday.
The King's Cup is slated to be played in Buriram, Thailand from June 5-8, 2019. The tournament will be followed by the Intercontinental Cup in July.
"I respected the choice of the squad which represented India in the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019. The rest of the players have been added post my research watching Hero I-League and Hero ISL matches. I found some players quite interesting, and have summoned them to the camp," All India Football Federation (AIFF) quoted Stimac, as saying.
"I congratulate all the players, and wish them good luck. I am eagerly waiting to land in New Delhi, and get on the task immediately. I have always cherished new challenges, and I am looking forward to coaching the Blue Tigers," he added.
Striker Jeje Lalpekhlua wasn't considered for the preparatory camp as he is likely to be operated in the third week of May.
Other players like Halicharan Narzary (knee injury), Mandar Rao Desai (hamstring injury), Ashique Kuruniyan (knee injury), Narender Gehlot (knee injury), and Jerry Lalrinzuala were also not considered for the preparatory camp.
The list of 37 probables is as follows:
Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Vishal Kaith, Amrinder Singh, Kamaljit Singh
Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Nishu Kumar, Rahul Bheke, Salam Ranjan Singh, Sandesh Jhingan, Adil Khan, Anwar Ali (Jr), Subhasish Bose, Narayan Das.
Midfielders: Udanta Singh, Jackichand Singh, Brandon Fernandes, Anirudh Thapa, Raynier Fernandes, Bikramjit Singh, Dhanpal Ganesh, Pronay Halder, Rowllin Borges, Germanpreet Singh, Vinit Rai, Sahal Abdul, Amarjit Singh, Redeem Tlang, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Nandha Kumar, Komal Thatal, Michael Soosairaj.
Forwards: Balwant Singh, Sunil Chhetri, Jobby Justin, Sumeet Passi, Farukh Choudhary, Manvir Singh.