Representative Image
Representative Image

18th Asian Games: Rani to lead Indian women's hockey squad

ANI | Updated: Jul 06, 2018 18:29 IST

New Delhi [India], July 6 (ANI): Hockey India announced the 18-member Indian Women's Hockey Team for the 18th Asian Games 2018, slated to begin in August this year in Jakarta/Palembang.
Striker Rani, who guided the Indian Women's Hockey Team to a victory in the 9th Women's Asia Cup last year, will lead the squad.
Meanwhile, ace goalkeeper Savita has been named as the Vice Captain and she will be joined by Rajani Etimarpu at the goalpost for the prestigious event, as India seeks to gain the most out of the competition as a ticket for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.
India's defence will include the experienced Deep Grace Ekka, Sunita Lakra, Deepika, Reena Khokhar and drag-flicker Gurjit Kaur, while the team's midfield will include Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz, Monika, Udita, Nikki Pradhan and Neha Goyal.
The forward-line will be led by Rani, who has won over 200 International Caps for India. She will be supported by Vandana Katariya, who also completed 200 International Caps for India at the recently held Spain Tour.
Youngster Lalremsiami has also been rewarded with a place in the squad for her good form as she joins the powered duo of Navneet Kaur and Navjot Kaur, who had a good showing in the recent tournaments for India.
"We have a good mixture of experienced and young players. I'm happy to note that each one of them has experienced what it is like to play high-level matches," said Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne.
He further said the team's performance at the forthcoming Vitality Hockey Women's World Cup London 2018 starting 21 July 2018 will have a good impact on the team's performance ahead of the 18th Asian Games.
"Playing well in London will be good for the confidence of the team ahead of the 18th Asian Games. I can tell the team that they are good and that they are capable of winning against any team but when you experience it yourself it is always better for the confidence," added Marijne.
Indian Women's Team:
1. Savita (Vice-Captain)
2. Rajani Etimarpu
3. Deep Grace Ekka
4. Sunita Lakra
5. Deepika
6. Gurjit Kaur
7. Reena Khokhar
8. Namita Toppo
9. Lilima Minz
10. Monika
11. Udita
12. Nikki Pradhan
13. Neha Goyal
14. Rani (Captain)
15. Vandana Katariya
16. Lalremsiami
17. Navneet Kaur
18. Navjot Kaur (ANI)