Hockey India names 33 players for junior men's national camp

ANI | Updated: Jan 06, 2018 13:50 IST

New Delhi [India], Jan 6 (ANI): Hockey India on Saturday named 33-member core probables for the junior men's national camp, which is set to begin on January 7 at the Sports Authority of India (SAI), Bengaluru.

The players will train under coach Jude Felix till March 15.

The national camp includes Mandeep Mor, Pratap Lakra, Pankaj Rajak, Harmanjit Singh, Vishal Singh, Raushan Kumar, Dilpreet Singh, Maninder Singh, Sanjay, Senthamizh Shankar, Abhishek, Vishal Antil, Varinder Singh, Vivek Prasad, Suman Beck, Sukhjeet Singh, Rabichandra Moirangthem and Shilanand Lakra who were part of the 18-member Indian Junior Men's Hockey Team that won the Bronze Medal at the recently-held Sultan of Johor Cup in Malaysia.

The group will be looking at the overall development during this national camp and will also get an opportunity to closely watch their senior compatriots go about their preparations for an all-important year that features the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games, Asian Games and Odisha Men's Hockey World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018.

"It is a long camp and we will be looking at different ways to bring in overall development. While our primary focus will be to improve our skills, fitness, speed, mental conditioning and other aspects of the game, this camp also gives us the time to engage in team building activities. I am also looking at having classes to improve the athletes communication skills and general knowledge. They are a very hardworking group and have the commitment to give what it takes to graduate to the next level. It is also great that they get to watch the senior team so closely as we are in the same campus," expressed coach Jude Felix.

The full list is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Pankaj Kumar Rajak , Tanuj Gulia, Prashant Kumar Chauhan , AS. Sentamizh Arasu, Suman Beck , Harmanjit Singh , Mandeep Mor , Mohd Faraz , Prince, Pratap Lakra.

Midfielders: Varinder Singh, Sunny Malik, Vishal Antil, Yashdeep Siwach , Vishal Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Akshay Avasthi, Sukhjeet Singh, Rabichandra Singh Moirangthem , Dinachandra Singh Moirangthem.

Forwards: Shilanand Lakra, Jai Prakash Patel, Dilpreet Singh, Mohd. Saif Khan, Raushan Kumar, Abhishek, Shivam Anand, Rahul Kumar Rajbhar , Mohd. Alishan , Sanjay, Maninder Singh, Rahul, Anand Kumar Bara. (ANI)