Official logo of Hockey India
Official logo of Hockey India

Jr Men National Hockey C'ship: Bihar, Karnataka reach semis

ANI | Updated: Apr 26, 2018 12:31 IST

Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh) [India], April 26 (ANI): Bihar booked their place in the semi-finals of the 8th Hockey India Junior Men National Championship 2018 (B Division) after hammering Bengaluru Hockey Association 5-2 here last evening.

Goals for Bihar were scored by skipper Anand Kumar Bara (17'), Sanchit Horo (20'), Johnson Purty (30'), Turtan Minz (54') and Abhay Kumar (62') while Santosh Mallappa Karisiri (22') and Binit Kiro (56') scored for Bengaluru.

In the another quarter-final clash, it was Karnataka who defeated Punjab National Bank 2-1 in the penalty shootout after the scores had remained leveled at 3-3 after regulation time.

Goals for Karnataka were scored by CS Shamanth (12'), V Suresh (17') and BP Somanna (48') while Anuj Malik (5'), Sagar Nanda (27') and skipper Sumeet Pal Singh (60') scored for Punjab National Bank.

In the penalty shootout, CS Shamanth and Pavan Madiwalar converted their shots for Karnataka while only Pushpinder Singh found the back of the net for Punjab National Bank.

Meanwhile, Coorg thrashed Rajasthan 7-1 in another last-eight clash.

Goals for Coorg were scored by F Noel Robinson (19', 46', 56'), Paramjeet (34'), VA Mohammed Fahad (59'), ND Chiranth Somanna (63') and AA Appanna (65') while Urmil Kumar (43') scored Rajasthan's only goal of the match.(ANI)