हिंदी खबर

Sr Women Hockey C'ship: RSPB thrash Tamil Nadu 18-0

ANI | Updated: Feb 01, 2018 18:34 IST

Ranchi (Jharkhand) [India], Feb 1 (ANI): The Railways Sports Promotion Board team proved to be too good for Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu as they clinched a crushing 18-0 win in the Hockey India Senior Women National Championship 2018 (A Division) at the Astro Turf Hockey Stadium in Ranchi on Thursday.

It was Priyanka Wankhede (12', 17', 25', 26', 40' and 52') who starred in their victory with six sensational goals including a penalty corner conversion, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam scored two penalty corners (2', 50') while Anupa Barla (6', 42'), Vandana Katariya (9'), Navneet Kaur (20', 23', 45'), Neha Goyal (14'), Deepika (28', 51') and Sanarik Chanu Ningombam scored in Railways Sports Promotion Board's stunning victory.

In another match, Punjab got the better of Chhattisgarh with a strong 6-1 win.

Punjab featuring India's ace dragflicker and defender Gurjit Kaur was efficient right from the start.

It was Amrinder Kaur's 2nd minute goal that put them ahead 1-0 while Anu Bala and Gurjit Kaur's 21st and 37th minute penalty corner conversion respectively earned them a strong 3-0 lead. Navjeet Kaur scored a splendid field goal in the 40th minute to take their lead to a comfortable 4-0.

Though Pooja Singh converted a penalty stroke for Chhattisgarh in the 42nd minute, Punjab went on to score two more goals through Amrinder Kaur and Lovedeep Kaur in the 49th and 55th minute to end the game in favour of Punjab 6-1.

In the third match of the day, Haryana beat Karnataka by a narrow 2-1 score line. It was Ramya N of Karnataka who stunned goal keeper Savita, when she converted a well-struck penaltry corner in the 6th minute to take a 1-0 lead. But Hockey Haryana immediately bounced back with an equalizer in the 8th minute through Ritu's penalty corner.

Both teams fought closely in the next two quarters, not allowing successful penetration into their striking circles but a relentless Haryana found success in the 58th minute when Manpreet Kaur struck a penalty stroke to win 2-1.

In the fourth match of the day, Odisha clinched a superb 8-1 win against Hockey Bhopal to begin their campaign in style. Goals were scored by Kanchan Barla Ashim (7', 36'), Sangeeta Rose Kullu (18'), Mariana Kujur (22'), Dipti Lakra (23'), Rashmita Minz (28', 48') and Namita Toppo (52') for Hockey Odisha while Ritusha Arya (20') was the lone goal scorer for Bhopal.

In another match, Madhya Pradesh scored an easy 10-0 win against Assam. It was Lily Chanu Mayengbam (15', 28' 40', 44') who starred in their win with four goals while Shivani Singh (13') and Jaspreet Kaur (38', 58'), Rakhi Prajapti (48'), Soundarya Yendala (59') and Nilanjali Rai (60') scored in Madhya Pradesh's win. (ANI)