Sub-junior National Hockey C'ship: Rajasthan outplay MP 2-0

ANI | Updated: Jan 06, 2018 21:22 IST

Hojai (Assam) [India], Jan 6 (ANI): Rajasthan swept aside Madhya Pradesh 2-0 in their Pool A clash on Day Two of the 8th Hockey India Sub Junior (Men) National Championship here at the Hojai Hockey Stadium on Saturday.

In the first match of the day, Madhya Pradesh's strong defence kept Rajasthan, who had scored a stunning 9-0 win against Telangana on the opening day, from scoring early on.

It was only in the 34th minute that they found a breakthrough when skipper Sachin successfully converted a penalty corner. Meanwhile, their defence stuck together to keep Madhya Pradesh from equalizing. Manish Choudhary then scored a field goal in the 65th minute to take home the winning points.

In a Pool C encounter, Citizen Hockey XI and Madhya Bharat played out a goalless draw.

Meanwhile, after losing 0-9 in their first match, Telangana overpowered a stiff challenge from Goans to win 4-1. Though it was Goans who opened the scoreboard in the 22nd minute through a field goal by their skipper Daniel Shahu, Telangana remained patient in their pursuit and kept finding gaps in the striking circle to convert. Their moment of joy came in the 56th minute when Sharib Ahmed equalized.

Soon after, their skipper Arvind scored three sensational goals in the 63rd, 64th and 69th minute. His first goal came off a penalty corner while the second goal was a well-converted penalty stroke and the third came off a brilliant field goal that helped gain winning points.

In another Pool B match, Bengaluru Hockey Association held Bengal Hockey Association to a goalless draw.

In the Pool B match, Kerala beat Puducherry 2-0 with both goals scored by Akhil Krishnan in the 41st and 66th minute.

In a Pool C match, Coorg lost to Madhya Bharat 0-3 with all three goals by team skipper Irtbaz Khan (15', 27', 42').

Himachal, on the other hand, beat Hockey Gujarat 8-0. Goals were scored by Rajan (10', 37', 55', 58'), Harpal (16', 49'), Angirus Saklani (60') and Ankush (58').

Hockey Uttrakhand beat Sports Authority of Gujarat- Hockey Academy 1-0 in a closely-fought Pool D match. Ganesh Singh was the lone scorer of the match with his 37th minute field goal.

Meanwhile, hosts Assam beat Vidharbha Hockey Association 12-0 in their Pool C match. Ankit Kumar starred in their impressive win with goals in 20th, 26th, 30th and 31st minute while Manish Sahani (56', 57', 59') scored thrice, Rahul Verma (17', 22') and Madhurjya Baruah (15', 68') struck twice, Abdullah Khan scored a goal in the 70th minute. (ANI)