FC Pune City draft Lewis, Khan, Raja among others in ISL Season 4 draft

| Updated: Jul 23, 2017 23:04 IST

Mumbai (Maharashtra) [India], July 23 (ANI): Indian Super League (ISL) franchise FC Pune City drafted striker Kean Lewis, defenders Wayne Vaz, Lalchhuanmawaia Fanai, midfielders Adil Khan, Baljit Singh and Jewel Raja among other players at the recently concluded ISL season 4 player draft. Lewis, who scored four goals in 11 appearances with Delhi Dynamos last season was picked in Round 2. Adil Khan, a strong centre-back played for Churchill Bros. last season besides having played for Dempo, Mohun Bagan and Sporting Club De Goa in his 14 years of playing career. Baljit Singh Sahni will join forces with Jewel Raja in the midfield. Baljit represented Chennaiyin FC last season while Jewel Raja was with Atletico De Kolkata. Team CEO Gaurav Modwel, who was present at the draft alongside head coach Antonio Habas, was a satisfied man. "The players we have picked are not big name we are aiming to create a core team which will be ours for next couple of years, we want to create our own marquee players and we will focus on developing more players," explained Modwel. "Young players are hungry and eager to learn new things, I believe they will be a turning point for the team. We will focus on developing the youngs and develop them," expressed Habas. FC Pune City earlier had retained young goalkeeper Vishal Kaith and inducted their Academy's bright forward Ashique Kuruniyan from last season. The club followed it by signing Uruguayan striker Emiliano Alfaro. Drafted players: Goalkeeper: Kamaljit Singh Defenders: Harpreet Singh, Nim Dorjee Tamang, Lalchhuanma Wia Fanai, Gurtej Singh, Wayne Vaz, Pawan Kumar Midfielders: Ajay Singh, Rohit Kumar, Jewel Raja, Baljit Singh, Adil Ahmed Khan, Isaac V Chhakchuak Forward: Kean Lewis Retained: Vishal Kaith (Goalkeeper), Ashique Kuruniyan (Forward) Foreign player: Emiliano Alfaro Drafted players round wise: R2 Kean Lewis R3 Adil Khan R4 Lalchhuanmmawla R5 Jewel Raja R6 Nim Dorjee R7 Isaac Vanmalsawma R8 Harpreet Singh R9 Wayne Vaz R10 Kamljit Singh R11 Baljit Sahni R12 Rohit Kumar R13 Ajay Singh R14 Gurtej Singh R15 Pawan Kumar (ANI)