Ronaldo, Griezmann named in Euro 2016 team of the tournament

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

Paris, July 11 (ANI): Portugal stars Cristiano Ronaldo and Pepe have been named in the Euro 2016 team of the tournament for the second consecutive time while France forward Antoine Griezmann was chosen as the player of the tournament. Goalkeeper Rui Patricio and defender Raphael Guerreiro were among four Portuguese players named in the coveted list, while midfielder Dimitri Payet joined Griezmann in representing hosts France. The rest of the team consist of players from Germany (Joshua Kimmich, Jerome Boateng and Toni Kroos) and Wales (Joe Allen and Aaron Ramsey). Griezmann finished the tournament with the Golden Boot, scoring six goals and providing two assists as he played an integral part in the France's en route to the final where they lost to Portugal 1-0. The team was selected by UEFA's 13-strong panel of technical observers, led by UEFA chief technical officer Ioan Lupescu and including Sir Alex Ferguson, Alain Giresse, David Moyes, Packie Bonner, Mixu Paatelainen, Savo Miloševic, Peter Rudbæk, Gareth Southgate, Thomas Schaaf, Jean-François Domergue, Gines Melendez and Jean-Paul Brigger. "After quite a bit of deliberation, the observers chose a team that features the best performing players from the best performing teams at UEFA EURO 2016. We believe that the selected XI represents the best of the competition," UEFA coaching ambassador Ferguson was quoted as saying by UEFA team of the tournament: Rui Patricio (POR); Joshua Kimmich (GER), Jerome Boateng (GER), Pepe (POR), Raphael Guerreiro (POR); Toni Kroos (GER), Joe Allen (WAL), Aaron Ramsey (WAL); Antoine Griezmann (FRA), Dimitri Payet (FRA); Cristiano Ronaldo (POR). (ANI)