Logo of IOA
Logo of IOA

Coronavirus: IOA delegation's visit to Tokyo postponed

ANI | Updated: Mar 15, 2020 15:43 IST

New Delhi [India], Mar 15 (ANI): Indian Olympic Association's delegation visit to Tokyo has been temporarily suspended amidst the coronavirus outbreak, sources within the IOA revealed on Sunday.
The delegation was slated to visit Tokyo along with few government officials on March 25.
The visit was scheduled to review India's preparation for the upcoming 2020 Tokyo Olympics.
As many as 74 athletes, who have qualified for Tokyo 2020 Olympics, will show their grit and determination to realise India's long-cherished dream to score double-digit medals in the global sporting event.
These athletes represent a range of games including boxing, shooting, hockey, wrestling, archery, and athletics.

In the ongoing Asian Boxing Olympic qualifiers, nine Indian boxers have cemented their place for the upcoming global event in Tokyo 2020. These boxers include Mary Kom, Lovlina Borgohain, Amit Panghal.
On Tuesday, javelin thrower Shivpal Singh also cemented his place for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics after registering a throw of 85.47m at the ACNW League Meeting in South Africa.
As far as archery is concerned, India has three men's quota in the recurve event -- Tarundeep Rai, Atanu Das, and Pravin Jadhav, while one woman -- Deepika Kumari -- will represent in the recurve event.
In athletics, Irfan Kolothum Thodi (men's 20km racewalk), Avinash Sable (men's 3000m steeplechase), Neeraj Chopra (men's javelin throw), Bhawna Jat (women's 20km racewalk) and team of Muhammed Anas, VK Vismaya, Jisna Mathew and Tom Nirmal Noah (4*400m mixed relay team) carry India's hope for medals.
The hope of winning the medals in hockey will be immense as both men's and women's have qualified for the event. A total of 16 athletes will be in hockey squad respectively in both men's and women's events.
India has attained the most number of slots in shooting and the country can have their hopes on the likes of Manu Bhaker, Saurabh Chaudhary, Abhishek Verma, Divyansh Singh Panwar, and Deepak Kumar.
The Tokyo Olympics will take place from July 24 to August 9. (ANI)