India wins 11 gold medals on first day of SAJAC
India wins 11 gold medals on first day of SAJAC

India wins 11 gold medals on first day of SAJAC

ANI | Updated: May 05, 2018 22:12 IST

Colombo [Sri Lanka], May 05 (ANI): Indian junior athletes dominated the proceedings on day one of the South Asian Junior Athletics Championships (SAJAC) at the Sugathadasa Stadium, here on Saturday.
Indian juniors bagged 11 gold, ten silver and three bronze medals to put India on top of the medal tally.
Arshdeep Singh provided India with the first gold medal of the day in the boys' javelin throw event with an effort of 71.47m, a new meet record.
Sri Lankan duo of Prasanna Ranawaka (61.71m) and Anjana Fonseka (60.47m) won silver and bronze medals, respectively.
A new meet record was also registered in the girls shot put event by India's Kiran Baliyan who won the gold with a 14.77m throw.
India also grabbed the silver medal in this event through Anamika Dass' 14.54m effort while Sri Lanka's Sarisha Gunasekara (11.51m) won the bronze.
Later in the day, Indian juniors also created new meet records in the boys long jump, girls 100m hurdles and 1500m events.
Lokesh Sathyanathan (7.74m) won the gold for India in the long jump final while in 100m hurdles Sapna Kumari bagged the gold with the timing of 14.19s.
Durga Deore clocked 4:31.38 in 1500m and added one more gold to India's tally.
In 4x100m relay races, Indian boys won gold, while girls team delivered a silver medal.
Here is a list of the other medallists from India -
Girls: Punitha Ramasamy (gold, long jump, 5.95m), Ajay (gold, discus throw, 50.11m), Ashish Bhalothia (bronze, discus throw, 46.52m), Pragyan Sahu (silver, 100m hurdles, 14.98s), Chaitrali Gujar (silver, 100m, 12.24s), Subha Venkatesan (silver, 400m, 55.18s), Rachna Gujar (bronze, 400m, 55.70s), Poonam Sonune (silver, 1500m, 4:36.65).
Boys: Gurjeet Singh (silver, high jump, 2.00m), Rishabh Rishiwar (silver, long jump, 7.43m), Kunal Choudhary (gold, 110m hurdles, 14.50s), Mohammed Fias (silver, 110m hurdles, 14.55s), Prajwal Ravi (gold, 100m, 10.81s), Akash Kumar (bronze, 100m, 10.89s), Ankit (gold, 1500m, 3:51.52), Ajit Kumar (3:53.45). (ANI)