RP-SG Indian Sports Honours announces jury for 2016-17

ANI | Updated: Nov 01, 2017 20:31 IST

New Delhi [India], Nov 1 (ANI): The RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group, in association with the Virat Kohli Foundation, on Wednesday announced the Jury and the nominations for the first edition of the distinguished RP-SG Indian Sports Honours.

Indian Cricket Captain Virat Kohli and Chairman, RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group Sanjiv Goenka, have come together to create this platform to honour exceptional performances and achievements by Indian sportspersons.

The annual RP-SG Indian Sports Honours will be supported virtually by India's sporting fraternity in its entirety, which consists of legends of Indian sports, sports journalists affiliated to the Sports Journalists Federation of India (SJFI) and the fans, all of whom will congregate to reward the achievers.

Earlier in the day, it was announced that Sanjiv Goenka and Pullela Gopichand, Chief National Coach for the Indian Badminton team, will chair an eminent Jury.

The jury will also comprise of tennis ace and multiple Grand Slam winner Mahesh Bhupathi, legendary athlete P.T. Usha, former world number one, sharp shooter Anjali Bhagwat and former Indian Hockey Captain Arjun Halappa.

The members of the Jury unveiled the trophy, which will be handed over to the winners during the inaugural RP-SG Indian Sports Honours ceremony, to be held in Mumbai on November 11.

Elaborating on the unique concept of the awards, Goenka, said, "We welcome the eminent members of the Jury, who have led Indian sports by example and left an indelible mark for future generations to emulate."

On the occasion, former All-England Champion Pullela Gopichand, stated, "The most effective way in which to inspire the next generation of sportspersons is to excel at the sport you play. Indians are outdoing their counterparts from other nations on the international stage, and if there is a special talent in the country, it is our duty to nurture it."

In the November 11awards ceremony, promising Indian athletes with the potential to excel in global events in the near future will also be awarded scholarships by the Virat Kohli Foundation.

The foundation has pledged a minimum of Rs. 2 crores to be utilised every year on the beneficiaries of the scholarships.

Launched in 2013, the Virat Kohli Foundation (VKF) is the charitable organisation India cricket captain and premier sports youth icon Virat Kohli. (ANI)