Bhupathi to succeed Amritraj as India's Davis Cup captain

| Updated: Dec 22, 2016 22:49 IST

New Delhi [India], Dec.22 (ANI): The All India Tennis Association (AITA) on Thursday named Mahesh Bhupathi as India's next non-playing Davis Cup captain for the 2017-2018 season. Bhupathi will succeed current captain Anand Amritraj in February 2017 after India's Davis Cup Group 1 Asia/Oceania first round tie against New Zealand. Amritraj joined the Indian Davis Cup team back in 2013 along with coach Zeeshan Ali. The Indian tennis governing body also announced the squad for the upcoming clash, which is slated to be played in Pune from February 3 to February 5. Saketh Myneni, Ramkumar Ramanathan, Yuki Bhambri, and youngster Prajnesh Gunneswaran have been included in the squad, with the final four to be decided two weeks prior to the clash. The AITA's six-member selection committee, which is chaired by SP Misra, also announced India's Fed Cup squad for Asia/Oceania Group I event which is to be held in Astana, Kazakhstan in the week of February 6, 2017 The team, coached by Nandan Bal, will include Sania Mirza , Ankita Raina, Snehadevi Reddy, Karman Thandi, Riya Bhatia, Prarthana Thombare. The final team will be selected two weeks before the tie.(ANI)