Indian cyclists finish second with 16 medals in Track Asia Cup

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

New Delhi [India], Sept.16 (ANI):The Indian Cyclists finished second in the Track Asia Cup campaign by winning 16 medals overall, including 5 Gold, 4 Silver and 7 Bronze here at the Indira Gandhi Stadium velodrome on Friday. On the final day of the Track Asia Cup, India bagged eight medals including 2 gold, 2 silver and 4 bronze medals. Hongkong took the top spot with 18 medals overall, including 11 Gold, 4 Silver and 3 Bronze. On finishing second in the medal tally, Coach RK Sharma said "I am satisfied with the performance of our cyclists in the Track Asia Cup especially Junior cyclists have shown good performance in this prestigious event and lived upto the expectations. I am sure this event has been a great learning experience for all the cyclists looking ahead Asian Track Cycling Championship in 2017. We have ample time before our next event and our cyclists will surely improve their performance by then". Onkar Singh, Secretary General, CFI said "5 years back, when we taken over Cycling Federation of India at that time Indian Cyclists were at 149th place in World Ranking but now Indian Cycling has been improved much and most of our riders are Under-10 rank in UCI World Ranking. The day is not so far when we will win the medals in World Championships, he added." Indian cyclist Deborah Herold in her final Sprint event took the first position, grabbing a gold medal with a time of 12.576 and 12.493 in the first and second round respectively. She beat Zhaojuan of Hong Kong, who went on to take the silver medal, clocking 12.820 and 12.734 in both the rounds respectively. The third position was awarded to Farina Shawati of Malaysia with a timing of 12.552 and 12.342 in the rounds. While Kezia Vargheese of India was given the fourth in this event. Deborah lost the gold medal in her favourite event 'Keirin' by a whisker and could manage only silver ahead of her teammate Kezia Varghesse (Bronze) while two other riders of Hongkong and Malaysia collapsed and fell down after which they were unable to complete the race. s Deborah turns out to be the star performer of the event with 3 golds and one silver medal with her. On winning silver medal in her favourite event 'Keirin', Deborah said, "I am unlucky that I lost the easy gold, I lost my focus due to the collision of other riders, this happened to me even last year also because of which I failed to win any medal in this event and this time I don't want to repeat the history and lost the medal. I am determined to do better in the Asian Track Cycling Championship to be held in India in February 2017 where riders from nearly 31 countries will take part". In the Men's elite Keirin event, Indian cyclist Amarjeet Singh fails to win any medal and finished 8th. In the Men Junior Sprint final, the gold and silver was awarded to Chun Long and TSZ Chun from Hong Kong respectively. Chun Long was clocked at 11.315 and 12.842 in both the rounds respectively and Tsz Chun was timed at 11.445 and 13.098 for the rounds. The bronze medal was awarded to our Indian cyclist Sanuraj P with a timing of 12.203 and 12.322 in the first and second round respectively. Emerson was at the fourth position with timing of 12.225 and 11.352 in both the rounds. In the Men's Junior Keirin, Emerson wins bronze medal for India. The Women Junior Sprint final however saw India bag the first two positions adding another gold and a silver to the medal tally. Nayana Rajesh, was awarded the gold medal and was clocked at 12.658 and 12.865 in both the rounds respectively. Anu Chutia grabbed the silver position, with a timing of 12.764 and 13.178 in the first and second rounds. Hoi Wah of Hong Kong was at the third position with a time of 13.644 and 13.300. However, the Men Elite Sprint Final could not manage getting any positions in the event, the gold and silver positions were awarded to Shih Fang from Taiwan and Ali Askari from Iran respectively. The bronze medal went to Shih Hsin from Taiwan. Shih Fang was timed at 11.085 and 11.091 and Ali Askari was clocked at 10.994 and 11.412. In the team Elite Women's team pursuit, India bagged bronze medal comprising Raj Kumari Devi, Bidya Luxmi Tourangbam, Ratuja Satputhe and G Amritha Regunath. The main attraction of the last day was the point race of 30 km, where 14 riders took part together and they have to complete the 120 rounds of the track. However, Indian couldn't win the medal in this race and Krishna Nayakodi and Ramesh Nagarajan could secure 8th place and 10th place respectively. Ka Yu Leung and Chun Wing Leung of Hong Kong distributed Gold and Silver each other with 90 and 73 points respectively. The third place went to Yousif Alhammadi of UAE with a total of 40 points.(ANI)