Indian youth team ends Asian campaign with relay gold

| Updated: May 24, 2017 08:05 IST

Bangkok [Thailand], May 24 (ANI): The Indian medley relay team comprising Gurindervir Singh, Palender Kumar, Manish and Akshay Nain provided a golden finish to the country's campaign at the 2nd Asian Youth Athletics Championships that concluded at the Suphachalasai National Stadium in Bangkok, Thailand on Tuesday evening. The Indian medley relay team grabbed the gold with the timing of 1:55.62. Boys from Chinese Taipei (1:55.71) took the silver while Hong Kong (1:56.11) settled for the bronze medal. On the last day, India also won a silver and a bronze in the boys' javelin throw. Boys from Uttar Pradesh- Rohit Yadav (74.30m) and Avinash Yadav (70.09m) bagged the silver and bronze medals, respectively. Yesterday, youngsters Abhay Gupta (56.47m) and Sahil Silwal (54.58m) made a history clinching the gold and silver medals respectively and broke the championship record in the boys' discus throw event surpassing Iranian athlete Sajjad Hassen's record of 53.06m at the first Asian Youth Athletics Championships in Doha in 2015. Haryana youngster Sanjay Kumar grabbed the gold in boys' 10000m Race Walk event, clocking 45:30.39 minutes. Earlier on Saturday, the 16-year old sprinter, Gurindervir clocked 10.77s in boy's 100m event and smashed the youth national record last month at the 14th National Youth Athletics Championships held in Hyderabad with the timing of 10.74s in the 100m final. The boys 800m race was a photo finish as Abhishek grabbed the gold for India with the timing of 1m 54.991s beating Sri Lanka's Harsha Mudiyansela who had to settle for silver with 1m 54.993s timing. Qi Zhan (1:55.25) of China won the bronze medal. In the overall medals tally, India finished third with 14 medals including five gold, five silver and four bronze medals. China topped the list with sixteen gold, nine silver and fiver bronze medals followed by Chinese Taipei (6G, 7S, 2B) on second position. Medal winners from India (5 Gold,5 Silver and 4 Bronze) 1. Gurindervir Singh(Boys 100m, Gold, 10.77s) 2. Abhishek Mathew(Boys 800m, Gold, 1:54.991) 3. Abhay Gupta(Boys Discus Throw, Gold, 56.47m) 4. Sanjay Kumar(Boys 10,000mWalk, Gold, 45:30.39min) 5. Gurindervir singh, Palender Kumar, Manish and Akshay Nain (Boys Medley Relay, Gold, 1:55.62) 6. Damneet Singh (Boys Hammer Throw, Silver, 70.29m) 7. Mohit - 28.12.2000 (Boys Shot Put, Silver, 18.82m) 8. Mohit- 20.03.2000 (Boys Decathlon, Silver, 5976 points) 9. Sahil Silwal(Boys Discus Throw,Silver,54.58m) 10. Rohit Yadav(Boys Javelin Throw, Silver, 74.30m) 11. Nitesh Poonia (Boys Hammer Throw, Bronze, 69.76m) 12. Seema (Girls 3000m, Bronze, 10:05.27) 13 . Akshay Nain (Boys 400m, Bronze, 48.49s) 14. Avinash Yadav(Boys Javelin Throw, 70.09m) (ANI)