`Sprint-King` Bolt shortlisted for IAAF World Athletes of Year award

| Updated: Oct 18, 2016 23:32 IST

New Delhi [India], Oct.18 (ANI): Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt, who is set to retire after the World Championships in London next year, has been shortlisted for the 2016 IAAF World Athletes of the Year award. Usain recently created an unprecedented record, a triple treble by bagging gold in 100 metres, 200m and 4x100m relay for the third successive Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. The 30-year-old, who also won gold in all three relays in Beijing 2008 and London Olympics 2012, bid farewell to Olympics with nine sprints Gold medals to his name. "The IAAF is pleased to confirm a list of 10 men and 10 women nominees who were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF," said IAAF in a statement. The 10-man shortlist also includes other Olympic champions like Briton Mo Farah, David Rudisha, Wayde van Niekerk and Thiago Braz da Silva. As far as nominees for women's award is concerned, two-time gold medallist Elaine Thompson will be among the frontrunners. The IAAF further said that the three-way voting process will determine the finalists. "The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF's social media platforms. The IAAF Council's vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family's votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result," he added. Voting will close on November 1. At the conclusion of the voting process, three men and three women finalists will be announced by the IAAF. The full list of nominees for 2016 World Athlete of the Year is as follows: Men: Usain Bolt; Thiago Braz; Ashton Eaton; Mo Farah, Eliud Kipchoge; Conselsus Kipruto; Omar McLeod; David Rudisha; Christian Taylor; Wayde van Niekerk. Women: Almaz Ayana; Ruth Beitia; Vivian Cheruiyot; Kendra Harrison; Caterine Ibarguen; Ruth Jebet; Sandra Perkovic; Caster Semenya; Elaine Thompson; Anita Wlodarczyk.(ANI)