Virat Kohli to be conferred with Padma Shri

| Updated: Jan 26, 2017 03:57 IST

New Delhi [India], Jan. 25 (ANI): Virat Kohli, who recently appointed Indian skipper in all three formats of the game, will receive the coveted Padma Shri Award from the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led government on the 68th Republic Day tomorrow. 28-year-old Kohli has made it to the list of 75 Padma Shri award winners this year. Padma Shri is the fourth highest civilian award behind Bharat Ratna, Padma Vibhushan and Padma Bhushan. Kohli joins Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly, Anil Kumble, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh and other cricketers in the prestigious Padma Shri awardees list. Apart from Kohli, cricketer Shekar Naik, discus thrower Vikas Gowda, Paralympic gold medallist Thangavellu Mariyappan, Paralympic silver medalist Deepa Malik, gymnast Dipa Karmakar, wrestler Sakshi Malik and Indian hockey captain PR Sreejesh are the other seven sports personalities who will receive Padma Shri. (ANI)