BCCI congratulates India A on quadrangular series win

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

New Delhi [India], Sept.4 (ANI):The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday congratulated India 'A' on winning the Quadrangular series title by defeating Australia 'A' by 57 runs here at Ray Mitchell Oval in Mackay. BCCI President, Anurag Thakur said, "I would like to congratulate India 'A' on their series win in Australia. Kudos to India 'A' coach Mr. Rahul Dravid for his effort in building a young team and further strengthening the bench strength of Team India." Meanwhile, BCCI Honorary Secretary, Ajay Shirke, also hailed the team and coach Rahul Dravid for showing great consistency by winning the title for third consecutive time. "My heartiest congratulations to Rahul Dravid and the boys for registering series win in Australia. The young team has shown great consistency by winning the title for the third consecutive year," Shirke said. In reply to India A's score of 266-4, Australia A were bundled out for 209 despite some stiff resistance from skipper Peter Handscomb (43) and Alex Ross (34) in the later stages of the chase. Yuzvendra Chahal was the pick of the bowlers for the Indian side as he finished with the figures of four for 34, while Karun Nair, Axar Patel and Dhawal Kulkarni all scalped two wickets apiece. Opener Mandeep Singh was adjudged `Man of the Match` for his majestic 95 runs. He also shared a crucial 87-run partnership with Manish Pandey (61) to inspire his side to a series win.(ANI)