Champions Trophy: Kiwis to bat against B'desh in must-win clash

| Updated: Jun 09, 2017 21:27 IST

Wales [U.K], June 9 (ANI): New Zealand have won the toss and elected to bat first in their penultimate Group A Champions Trophy clash against Bangladesh at the Sophia Gardens in Cardiff on Friday. After winning the toss, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson said, "We know we've got a tough game today, we need to play well." As far as Playing XI is concerned, New Zealand is interestingly going with the same squad that suffered an 87-run defeat against England in the second group clash. For Bangladesh, Taskin Ahmed has been roped in the starting XI, as he replaces Imrul Kayes. Earlier, a wet outfield due to heavy overnight rain and showers scudding across the ground this morning delayed the start of the play. The Kane Williamson-led side is standing at the bottom of the Group A table, while Bangladesh are one spot ahead in the third position. The two sides have just a point apiece in the eight-team marquee tournament after they slumped to a comprehensive defeat by England, while their respective matches against two-time winner Australia were abandoned. In order to keep their hopes alive of making it to the playoffs, both sides will now face a do-or-die situation. On the other hand, if Australia manage to clinch a victory against hosts England at Edgbaston, both teams will qualify for the semi-finals. New Zealand Playing XI: Martin Guptill, Luke Ronchi(w), Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Neil Broom, James Neesham, Corey Anderson, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Trent Boult. Bangladesh Playing XI: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman.(ANI)