India demolish England in Chennai to complete 4-0 series win

| Updated: Dec 20, 2016 22:23 IST

Chennai [India], Dec.20 (ANI): All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja on Tuesday scalped his sixth five-wicket haul as India clinched a crushing victory by an innings and 75 runs in the final Test to finish the five-match series 4-0 against England here at the MA Chidambaram Stadium. Resuming at yesterday's score of 12-0, skipper Alastair Cook (49) and opener Keaton Jennings (54) provided the visitors with a strong start by sharing a huge 103-run stand for the opening wicket. Although Jennings did complete his second half-century in the series, he failed against the wily spin from Jadeja. Root (6), who has been in phenomenal form during this series, too was dismissed early after he tried sweeping Jadeja. England did bring some stability in their innings after the lunch break through Moeen Ali (44) and Ben Stokes (23). However, Indian bowlers struck hard at the start of the third and last session to break 63-run partnership for the fifth wicket between the duo before removing the final four in quick succession. Jadeja was the pick of the bowlers as he finished 10 wickets overall, including his career-best second innings figures of seven for 48. Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma and Amit Mishra all chipped in with a wicket each. Ravichandran Ashwin did not achieve any success in the second innings. Earlier, opener KL Rahul and Karun Nair produced brilliant batting performance as India scored a massive first innings total of 759-7 declared in reply to England's score of 477 runs, thus taking a lead of 282 runs on the fourth day. It was India's highest total in Test cricket eclipsing 726/9 against Sri Lanka in Mumbai in 2009. Rahul (199) fell just one run short of a double century while Nair (303) scripted history by becoming the second Indian to score a triple century in the longest format of the game. Nair, who was declared `Man of the Match`, joined the former swashbuckling Indian opener Virender Sehwag, who has the distinction of reaching the landmark twice. Meanwhile, Virat Kohli was adjudged `Man of the Series`. Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president Anurag Thakur handed over the trophy to the skipper. (ANI)