Mona Meshram named in Indian squad for ICC Women's WC Qualifiers

| Updated: Jan 21, 2017 22:38 IST

Mumbai [India], Jan.21 (ANI): All-rounder Mona Meshram has been called in the Indian squad as a replacement for injured Smriti Mandhana for the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifiers to be played in Colombo from February 7. The 35-year-old sustained an injury while playing in the Big Bash League (BBL) in Australia and Mona will now replace her in the 14-member Indian squad to be led by Mithali Raj. "BCCI medical team confirms that Smriti Mandhana is ruled out of the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifiers to be played in Colombo from February 7, 2017. She sustained an injury during the Big Bash League in Australia," BCCI said in a press release. "Mona Meshram will replace Smriti in the 14 member squad," it said. The next month's ICC Women's World Cup Qualifiers will brings together 10 sides in their quest to claim the remaining four places in the main event to be held in June next year. The tournament will run from February 7 to 21 at four Colombo venues and the sides finishing in the top four of the Super Six stage will join defending champion Australia, host England, former winner New Zealand and reigning ICC World Twenty20 champion West Indies in the ICC Women's World Cup 2017 from June 26 to July 23. Asian champions and former World Cup finalists India leads Group A which also includes Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Thailand, while South Africa heads Group B which comprises Pakistan, Bangladesh, Scotland and Papua New Guinea (PNG). Each side will play four matches in the first round, following which the top three sides from each group will progress to the Super Six stage, while also carrying forward points they earn against sides which have progressed to the Super Six stage from their group. The top four sides from the Super Six stage, in which each side will play three matches against teams from the other group, will complete the eight-team line-up for the ICC Women's World Cup 2017, while the top two sides will battle out for the title in the February 21 final.(ANI)