PKL Season 5 trophy unveiled with 12 captains

| Updated: Jul 28, 2017 00:01 IST

Hyderabad (Telangana) [India], July 27 (ANI): The thrill of electrifying raids and dynamic tackles is just a day away, and the captains of all 12 Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) teams came together to launch the Season 5 of the league. Kabaddi stalwarts Anup Kumar, Rahul Chaudhari, Ajay Thakur, Nitin Tomar including international star Meraj Sheykh were among the captains' present. The first match, on July 28, will see new team Tamil Thalaivas, led by Ajay Thakur take on Rahul Chaudhari-led Telugu Titans in Hyderabad. The inaugural ceremony of Season 5 is likely to be a star-studded affair, with eminent sports icons and film personalities expected to attend. Gearing up for the 138 exhilarating matches across 13 weeks, the teams have been training fastidiously to prepare for a competitive season. The battle for the league got even more intense with the announcement of a consolidated sum of INR 8 crores as the coveted prize money for the season. Sanjay Gupta, Managing Director, Star India said, 'As we stand hours away from the 5th season of VIVO Pro Kabaddi, I am transported back to the day we decided to launch the league. I am filled with immense pride to see how the league has made tremendous impact and grown continuously." "It's now constituted as the biggest domestic sports league with twelve new teams and expanding to new geographies. I look forward to a thrilling season of three months and I am confident that it will make history all over again.'' The season will culminate with the finals slated for October 28 in Chennai. (ANI)