PSL spot-fixing row: PCB name tribunal members

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

Karachi [Pakistan], Mar.20 (ANI): The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced a three-member tribunal headed by a retired judge to investigate the alleged corruption in the second edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL). While the tribunal would be chaired by Justice (Retired) Asghar Haider, it would also consist of former PCB chairman Lt General (Retired) Tauqir Zia and former team manager Wasim Bari. According to the Express Tribune, the PCB had formed the three-member committee after Islamabad United pair of Khalid Latif and Sharjeel Khan formally informed the board that they seek to contest charges against them. The duo were suspended by the PCB for their alleged involvement in the infamous spot-fixing scandal during the first week of the PSL. According to the prescribed procedure, the tribunal would now issue notices for a preliminary hearing to both PCB as well as the players. Later, three more players namely, Mohammad Irfan, Shahzeb Hasan and Nasir Jamshed were also suspended following further investigation. On Friday, Shahzaib underwent two days of investigation in which he was questioned about his terms with already suspended Sharjeel and Khalid and was asked the reason of delay in reporting the details of corrupt approach. Shahzaib last played for Pakistan six years back and the only highlight of his brief international career was featuring in the World T20 squad in 2009. Meanwhile, Irfan, Nasir Sharjeel and Khalid have been summoned by the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) to record their statements on March 20 and 21. Irfan and Jamshed will be recording their statements before the FIA's investigators today while batsmen Sharjeel and Khalid have been asked to appear before FIA on March 21. Irfan, who on March 14 was suspended and charge-sheeted over his alleged connections with bookies, has been given 14 days by the PCB to submit his reply. (ANI)