हिंदी खबर

Raval, de Grandhomme, Broom earn NZ central contracts

| Updated: Jun 23, 2017 22:25 IST

Wellington [New Zealand], June 23 (ANI): New Zealand opening batsman Jeet Raval, all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme and batsman Neil Broom have all been given central contracts for the 2017-18 international season. Reflecting on the trio's addition in the New Zealand's 21-member list, national selector Gavin Larsen said that Grandhomme, Raval and Broom have been rewarded with central contracts following productive performances for the country. "Colin made a breakthrough last summer and is rated well in all three formats; Jeet's Test numbers speak for themselves, and Neil, as well as averaging 43 in ODI cricket (with a strike-rate of 90) since his recall, is also seen as a viable cover for the Test team's middle-order," ESPNcricinfo quoted Larsen as saying. While De Grandhomme has been part of the national squad across all the three formats of the game and has till now appeared in six Tests, nine ODIs and eight T20Is, Raval has cemented the opening slot in the longer format of the game notching up 493 runs in seven games at an average of 44. Broom, on the other hand, was recalled after a long gap of eight years after Ross Taylor underwent an eye surgery. Since his return, he smashed four half-centuries and a century. Fast bowler Doug Bracewell has been left out, while off-spinner Mark Craig and recently-retired wicketkeeper-batsman Luke Ronchi have also been overlooked from the contract contracts. Veteran offspinner Jeetan Patel, who retired from international cricket hours after Ronchi had done so, has also failed to make it to the list, which also features Colin Munro, Mitchell McClenaghan, Henry Nicholls and Ish Sodhi. The full 21-member list is as follows: Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, James Neesham, Jeet Raval, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson, George Worker.(ANI)