World No. 2 Kohli misses spot in ICC 2016 Test Team

| Updated: Dec 22, 2016 21:02 IST

Dubai [UAE], Dec. 22 (ANI): Indian Test skipper Virat Kohli, who has been an 18-match unbeaten streak, has not been included in the ICC Test Team of the Year. Despite being adjudged as the Man-of-the-Series with 655 runs in the recently concluded five-match series against England which the World No. 1 Test team won 4-0, Kohli missed a berth in the ICC Test team of the year 2016. England captain Alastair Cook, who is under the scanner following the recent thrashing in India, has been named as the captain of the ICC team, which includes four Englishmen, three Australians, and a player each from New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka and South Africa. This is the third time Cook has been appointed captain of the Test side, while it the eighth time in nine years that Dale Steyn has been selected. Joe Root, David Warner and Kane Williamson have been chosen for the third successive year. However, the 28-year-old Indian batsman was named as the captain of the ICC ODI Team of the Year for the third lucky time. The ICC ODI team includes three Australians, Indians, South Africans each, and one each from England and West Indies. AB de Villiers has been selected for the sixth time since 2010, while Mitchell Starc has been picked up for the third time in four years. ICC Test team of the year 2016: Alastair Cook (captain), David Warner, Kane Williamson, Joe Root, Adam Voges, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rangana Herath, Mitchell Starc, Dale Steyn, Steve Smith. ICC ODI team of the year 2016: Virat Kohli (captain), David Warner, Quinton de Kock (wk), Rohit Sharma, AB de Villiers, Jos Buttler, Mitchell Marsh, Ravindra Jadeja, Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada, Sunil Narine, Imran Tahir. (ANI)