Yasir axed, Irfan named in Pak ODI squad against Aussies

| Updated: Dec 30, 2016 20:36 IST

Karachi [Pakistan], Dec.30 (ANI): Pakistan leg-spinner Yasir Shah has been dropped from the 15-man squad for the five-match ODI series against Australia beginning on January 13 at the Gabba, Brisbane. The Azhar Ali-led side will also not feature veteran all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez and wicketkeeper-batsman Kamran Akmal. Meanwhile, fast bowler Mohammad Irfan, who was earlier ruled out of the fifth ODI and the subsequent T20 series against England due to fitness issues, has also been retained in the squad for the limited-over series against Australia. While announcing the squad, National Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said the team has been chosen keeping in mind the Australian conditions before adding that the side is a fine blend of experienced and young players. "The ODI team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions in Australia and the performances of players in the recent ODI series against West Indies and in domestic cricket.The team is a fine blend of experienced and young players, and the selectors have to stick to the same combination of players selected against West Indies earlier," the Express Tribune quoted Inzamam as saying. The Pakistan squad is as follows: Azhar Ali (captain), Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Umar Akmal, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Irfan.(ANI)