Starting today, WhatsApp users can now delete messages which are sent by mistake, whether to one person or to an entire group.
All one needs to do now is to tap and hold on the message, choose "Delete," and then "Delete for everyone." Users get seven minutes to delete the message after it is sent.
The feature allows deleting of a specific message sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.
However, both the user and message recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for the message to be successfully deleted.
This highly anticipated feature which was in beta testing for around one year, is welcomed by WhatsApp's userbase of more than one billion.