Representative Image
Representative Image

Disgruntled Madhesh based parties soon to decide over the support to incumbent Government

ANI | Updated: Nov 27, 2018 04:28 IST

Janakpur (Nepal), Nov 27 (ANI): The longtime agitating Madhesh based party of Nepal, the Rastriya Janata Party- Nepal (RJP-N) will soon decide whether it will continue to support the incumbent Government led by Nepal Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, said party's coordinator.
Rajendra Mahato, newly elected coordinator of the party on a visit to his constituency in Janakpur made these remarks while replying to a query of reporters about RJP-N's support to the incumbent government.
Mahato said "We had supported the government but there has been no positive development from the government's side in the direction of addressing our demands. No discussion has been made on the constitutional amendment, about the release of Resham Chaudhary and other prisoners, withdrawal of the cases lodged against the arrested protestors as well as the issues having a direct impact on the daily life of the people, such as peace, security, and good governance. In this critical phase the Rastriya Janata Party- Nepal (RJP-N) will be holding a meeting over the issues soon and on that meet, we will soon decide over the issue."
The current government under the Prime Ministers KP Sharma Oli was formed in mid of February this year after his party secured a majority of seats in federal elections held in two phases.
The longtime agitating party RJP-N had supported the government upon being convinced over the addressal of their demands.
The amalgam of the Communist Parties of Nepal, the then Left alliance had 174 votes in the 275 members strong House of Representative. The then CPN-UML (Communist Party of Nepal- Unified Marxist Leninist) whose chairman Oli is the current PM of Nepal has 121 seats in the parliament and MC has 53 members.
The agitating parties of Nepal the RJP-N and the Federal Socialist Party- Nepal who have 16 and 17 votes in the parliament also voted in favor of PM Oli which made him acieve the desired 207 marks hence completing the majority of two-thirds with 23 votes in addition. (ANI)