Imran Khan
Imran Khan

Imran Khan to take oath as Pak PM tomorrow

ANI | Updated: Aug 17, 2018 23:11 IST

Islamabad [Pakistan], Aug 17 (ANI): Imran Khan will take oath as the 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan on Saturday, at 9: 15 AM (Pakistan local time) at the President House here.
The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief was elected as the Prime Minister of Pakistan after the newly-elected members of the National Assembly (NA) cast their vote on Friday.
Khan bagged 176 seats while his opponent and chief of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Shehbaz Sharif managed to secure 96 seats, the Dawn reported.
The newly-elected Speaker of the House Asad Qaiser announced the results amid the chants of 'na manzoor' (unacceptable) and "Wazir-e-azam Nawaz Sharif" (former Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif).
The PTI had emerged as the single largest party with 116 seats in the July 25 elections. The party has 158 members in the NA after the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) issued notifications of the successful candidates on the reserved seats for women and the minority community on August 11. (ANI)