हिंदी खबर
Indian embassy in Madagascar pays rich tribute to Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore
Indian embassy in Madagascar pays rich tribute to Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore

Indian embassy in Madagascar pays tribute to Rabindranath Tagore

ANI | Updated: May 09, 2022 23:57 IST

Antananarivo [Madagascar], May 9 (ANI): On the occasion of the 161st birth anniversary of Nobel laureate Rabindranath Tagore, the Indian embassy in Madagascar held celebrations as part of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav (AKAM) while also organising the 16th Edition of its monthly literary programme LaLitTana.
The event was attended by Francois Rajaoson, President of Malagasy Academy, Dr Nalisoa Ravalitera, Vice President of the Malagasy Academy, and Hobiana, the Honorary President of the Union of Writers of Madagascar and literary circle Havatsa Upem Arivonimamo, poets university students and the members of the Indian community, the Indian Embassy said in a press release.

"Rabindranath Tagore was a great poet, writer and artist. He was the first non-European to win the world's most prestigious 'Nobel Prize for Literature' in 1913. He was one of the architects of modern India and played a vital role in the Indian cultural renaissance," India's Ambassador to Madagascar said Abhay Kumar said.
The Indian Ambassador also shared his experience with the audience when he delivered a lecture at the Malagasy Academy last year, the President of the Academy Francois Rajaoson told him that Madagascar's national poet Jean-Joseph Rabearivelo was inspired by the poetry of Rabindranath Tagore. Later Ambassador found that Jean Joseph Rabearivelo had mentioned Tagore in his poem no.15 from his poetry collection 'Translated from the Night'.

On this occasion, floral tributes were offered to Rabindranath Tagore by the Ambassador, the President of the Malagasy Academy, poets and the members of the Indian diaspora. A short movie on the life of Rabindranath Tagore was also screened.

The famous poem of Rabindranath Tagore 'Where the mind is without fear' from 'Gitanjali' was recited by Abhay Kumar, in Malagasy by Dr Nalisoa Ravalitera and in French by Soambinintsoa Andrianary.
On this occasion, poets from Madagascar who participated in the 16th Edition of LaLitTana included Faribolana Sandratra like Haintso Nirina, Rija A-Jonah, Rakemba, Lova Santatra, Tolotra Arinandrianina, RaNirhy, Zara Ainga, Ratsimba Ny Dina and Ratsimbazafy Heriarilala Andriamamonjy. (ANI)