Left Alliance dominate vote count in Nepal polls

ANI | Updated: Dec 11, 2017 08:36 IST

Kathmandu [Nepal], December 11 (ANI): Nepal's Left alliance - Communist Party of Nepal- Unified Marxist Leninist (CPN-UML) and the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist Center) -is looking all set to form the next government in the country after voting results begin to pour out.

The Communist Party of Nepal- Unified Marxist Leninist (CPN-UML) has emerged victorious in 70 federal constituencies and is leading in 11 constituencies so far, the Kathmandu Post reported.

The party has also won the election in 134 provincial constituencies and is leading in 20 others.

Its alliance partner, the Maoist Center, has won in 27 federal constituencies and leading in eight parliamentary constituencies while the party has emerged victorious in 59 provincial constituencies and is leading in nine others.

The biggest and the oldest party of Nepal, the Nepali Congress, has won in 15 federal constituencies and is leading in seven constituencies.

The alliance of agitating Madhesh based parties, who got united as Rastriya Janata Party, has secured 11 of the total seats contested under the First Past the Post (FPTP) system.

The Nepal Election Commission has informed that 98 of the 1944 candidates have been elected under the FPTP electoral system which also includes three women representatives.

With the vote counting and the results of the House of Representatives and the Provincial Council is underway in Nepal, the new government is expected to be formed by mid of January.

According to these trends, it seems Nepal is all set to get a government led by the communist parties for the next five years if the alliance stayed for long otherwise the new government formed next month should stay for at least two years, as per the Nepali constitution.

According to the new constitution promulgated in 2015, which witnessed widespread protest and bloodshed in the southern plains, has given the authority to Nepalese President to choose Prime Minister from the party which has highest seats in the parliament.

The process will start after the EC submits its final results to the President which is likely to be done by the end of December. (ANI)