Representative Image
Representative Image

Pakistan restricts entry of all transit flights till tomorrow

ANI | Updated: Mar 08, 2019 19:14 IST

Islamabad [Pakistan], Mar 8 (ANI): Pakistan has restricted all transit flights from entering its airspace till tomorrow (March 9, 10:00EST), the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) announced on Friday.
Geo News reported that the airspace has been closed for all overflying flights from East to West and vice versa.
Meanwhile, some transit flights operating between the north and south of the country's airspace have been permitted to fly.
Furthermore, Sialkot, Rahim Yar Khan and Sukkur airports, which were set to reopen today, will remain closed for an additional 24 hours, the CAA said in a statement.
However, the aviation authority has opened only a part of the airspace for incoming and departing flights.  
Airports across the country, including Karachi, Multan, Chitral, Lahore, Islamabad, Peshawar, Quetta and Faisalabad, where flight operations had resumed earlier this week will continue to operate as per schedule till 5 am on March 15.   
Pakistan had closed its airspace last week amid escalating tension with India following the Pulwama terror attack on February 14 in which around 40 CRPF personnel reportedly lost their lives. The responsibility of the attack was claimed by Pakistan-based terror outfit Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM). (ANI)