South Africa's ANC elects Ramaphosa as its President

ANI | Updated: Dec 19, 2017 00:28 IST

Johannesburg [South Africa], December 19 (ANI): Cyril Ramaphosa has been elected by South Africa's ruling African National Congress party as its 14th President.

Ramaphosa, who has served as the Deputy President of South Africa under President Jacob Zuma since 2014, won 2441 votes to emerge victorious against his rival, Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, who won 2,261.

Earlier, Ramaphosa was the chairman of the national planning commission that produced the National Development Plan, the country's blue print for growth towards 2030.

After failing to clinch the ANC nomination to succeed President Nelson Mandela in 1999, Ramaphosa shifted into business that made him one of the wealthiest people in Africa.

He had founded one of the biggest and most powerful trade unions in the country known as the National Union of Mineworkers.

Ramaphosa became a Member of Parliament after the first democratic elections in 1994 and also played a key role in drafting the country's constitution as he was elected chairperson of the Constitutional Assembly. (ANI)