US expands travel ban, adds N Korea, Chad to the list

ANI | Updated: Sep 25, 2017 06:43 IST

Washington [USA], Sep 25 (ANI): The United States has expanded the controversial travel ban by slapping the restrictions on eight countries – North Korea, Iran, Chad, Libya, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen and Somalia, read a statement released by the White House on Monday.

Sudan has been dropped off the list from the banned countries, whereas Chad, North Korea and Venezuela are new to the list of affected countries.

The new travel ban will come into effect on October 18.

"As President, I must act to protect the security and interests of the United States and its people," said the US President Donald Trump in a statement.

“Making America Safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet,” Trump said in a tweet.

The Department of Homeland has recommended more targeted restrictions on foreign nationals from countries it says have refused to share information with the U.S. or haven't taken necessary security precautions.

Trump’s new executive order  is intended to enhance vetting capabilities and processes for detecting entry to the U.S. by terrorists, as well as other public safety threats.

“Following an extensive review by the Department of Homeland Security, we are taking action today to protect the safety and security of the American people by establishing a minimum security baseline for entry into the United States,” President Trump said.

“We cannot afford to continue the failed policies of the past, which present an unacceptable danger to our country. My highest obligation is to ensure the safety and security of the American people, and in issuing this new travel order, I am fulfilling that sacred obligation,” he added.

Last week, President Trump alluded a “tougher” travel ban, post partially explosion of a bomb on a London subway.

For the last three months, the Trump administration used an executive order to ban foreign nationals of six Muslim-majority countries from entering the US. (ANI)