U.S. imposes new sanctions on Russia over Ukraine

| Updated: Jun 21, 2017 08:25 IST

Washington [U.S.], June 21 (ANI): The U.S. has imposed additional sanctions on Russia over its actions in Ukraine, blacklisting 38 individuals and entities. The U.S. Treasury Department said the targeted individuals and entities include an entity that has engaged in the evasion of existing sanctions, two Russian Government officials and two individuals acting for or on behalf of a government official. The blacklist also includes two entities that are owned or controlled by an individual previously designated and 11 individuals and entities that operate in the Crimea region, Xinhua reported. As a result of the move, any property or interest of the designated persons in the U.S. will be blocked and transactions by Americans involving these persons are generally prohibited. "These designations will maintain pressure on Russia to work toward a diplomatic solution. This administration is committed to a diplomatic process that guarantees Ukrainian sovereignty, and there should be no sanctions relief until Russia meets its obligations under the Minsk agreements," said Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin. The move by the Trump administration came days after U.S. Senate passed new sanctions on Russia, a strong congressional response to alleged Russian meddling of the 2016 U.S. presidential election. The new Russia sanctions bill also requires the White House to get a congressional review if it attempts to relax, suspend or terminate Russia sanctions. (ANI)