Washington D.C.: PM Modi meets US State Secy and Defense Secy

| Updated: Jun 27, 2017 03:36 IST

Washington D.C. [USA], June 26 (ANI): Ahead of his meeting with U.S. President Donald Trump, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi held talks with Secretary of State Rex Tillerson and U.S. Defense Secretary James Mattis. <blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">First engagement of the day. Mr. Jim Mattis, Secretary of Defence calls on PM <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi">@narendramodi</a> <a href="https://t.co/SEujtPl8WH">pic.twitter.com/SEujtPl8WH</a></p>&mdash; Gopal Baglay (@MEAIndia) <a href="https://twitter.com/MEAIndia/status/879367170081210372">June 26, 2017</a></blockquote> <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script> <blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Preparing the ground for the meeting between the leaders. Mr. Rex W. Tillerson, Secretary of State calls on PM <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi">@narendramodi</a> <a href="https://t.co/tGfeVDT3YD">pic.twitter.com/tGfeVDT3YD</a></p>&mdash; Gopal Baglay (@MEAIndia) <a href="https://twitter.com/MEAIndia/status/879367959327547392">June 26, 2017</a></blockquote> <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script> Later in the day, Prime Minister Modi and U.S. President Donald Trump will have a one-on-one meeting in the Oval Office of the White House for 20-minutes between 3.50 p.m. and 4.10 p.m. (EST) (that is tentatively between 1.20 a.m. and 1.40 a.m. IST. As per an official advisory, this 20-minute meeting will be followed by an hour-long delegation-level talks between the two sides from 4.10 p.m. to 5.10 p.m. (EST) (i.e. 1.40 a.m. and 2.40 a.m. IST on Tuesday June 27)in the Cabinet Room of the White House. The two leaders will then proceed to the Rose Garden to deliver a joint opening statements to the media between 5.10 p.m. and 5.30 p.m. (EST) (i.e. 2.40 a.m. and 3 a.m. IST on Tuesday June 27). Following the joint opening statements to the media, both leaders and their respective delegations will attend a cocktail reception hosted by Vice President Mike Pence on the State Floor of the White House between 5.30 p.m. and 6 p.m. (EST) (i.e. 3 a.m. and 3.30 a.m. IST on Tuesday June 27). This will be followed by a dinner hosted by President Trump for the Indian Prime Minister and his delegation at the same venue (State Floor) between 6 p.m. and 8 p.m. (EST) (i.e. 3.30 a.m. to 5.30 a.m. IST on Tuesday June 27). (ANI)
iocl