Deuba takes oath of office as 40th Nepal PM

| Updated: Jun 08, 2017 00:25 IST

Kathmandu [Nepal], June 07 (ANI): Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba on Wednesday took oath as the 40th Prime Minister of Nepal. President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered the oath of office and secrecy to newly elected Prime Minister Deuba amid a function at Sheetal Niwas in Kathmandu, reports the Kathmandu Post. Deuba has formed his Cabinet by inducting seven ministers including three Deputy Prime Ministers (DPMs). After taking the oath, Deuba administered oath to seven new ministers-three from Nepali Congress, three from CPN (Maoist Centre) and one from Nepal Loktantrik Forum. From Nepali Congress, Gopal Man Shrestha has been appointed as the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Education while Gyanendra Bahadur Karki and Farmullah Mansoor have been appointed as Minister for Finance and Minister for Labour and Employment respectively. Meanwhile, Krishna Bahadur Mahara of CPN (Maoist Centre) has been appointed as Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs, CPN (MC) leader Janardan Sharma has been appointed as Minister for Home Affairs and Prabhu Sah has been appointed as minister without portfolio. Deuba, who is also the President of Nepali Congress, returned to power for the fourth time on Tuesday, 12 years after he was unceremoniously removed by then king Gyanendra Bir Bikram Shah, with 388 votes in his favour in the 593-strong Parliament. (ANI)