14 European nations join US to expel Russian diplomats

ANI | Updated: Mar 26, 2018 22:44 IST

Moscow [Russia], Mar. 26 (ANI): Following US President Donald Trump's directive to expel 60 Russian diplomats, owing to the poisoning of the former double agent Sergei Skripal and his daughter Yulia, 14 European nations have followed suit, ousting dozens of Russian officials from their respective soils.

Lauding the efforts made by the western nations to show solidarity with the UK, its foreign secretary Boris Johnson tweeted, "Today's extraordinary international response by our allies stands in history as the largest collective expulsion of Russian intelligence officers ever & will help defend our shared security. Russia cannot break international rules with impunity."

According to RT news, Germany, France and Poland have expelled four diplomats each, their respective foreign ministries confirmed on Monday, while The Netherlands, Denmark and Italy will expel two diplomats each, their foreign ministries said.

Lithuania has expelled three, their foreign minister said. The Czech Republic will expel the same number.

Meanwhile, Latvia is expelling one diplomat and an Aeroflot employee, and Estonia's foreign minister has confirmed the country is expelling a military attache at the Russian embassy. Finland and Sweden are expelling one each.

Although there is no substantial evidence that proves that Skripal was poisoned by Russia, it is clear now that many of the UK's allies have accepted their view that the poisoning was 'highly likely' the work of Russia. (ANI)