UK Prime Minister Theresa May
UK Prime Minister Theresa May

UK MPs vote to take control over Brexit process

ANI | Updated: Mar 26, 2019 06:42 IST

London [United Kingdom], Mar 26 (ANI): Further deepening the crisis, British MPs on Monday (local times) defied Prime Minister Theresa May's government and voted in the favour of an amendment that gives them the power to control of the country's Parliament, reports CNN.
As many as 30 Conservative  MPs have voted against Theresa May. Letwin Amendment has allowed the lawmakers to make a series of indicative votes on various alternative options-including Norway-style deal with the EU and no Brexit.  
Terming it as an "another humiliating defeat" for Theresa May, Labour MP Keir Starmer tweeted, She has lost complete control of her party, her Cabinet and of the Brexit process. Parliament has fought back - and now has the chance to decide what happens next."
Last week, at least one million people protested against May's handling of the Brexit process, demanding for a second referendum to be held.
In 2016, over 50 per cent of the UK electorate voted to leave the EU, following which the British government triggered Article 50 of the Lisbon Treaty, beginning the country's process of its exit from the European bloc. The then-Prime Minister David Cameron, who supported continued membership to the EU, resigned, making way for May to take charge.
Uncertainty looms even as UK looks at an extended period to exit from the EU.

The bloc agreed to extend Article 50 till May 22, provided the British Parliament supports the Withdrawal Deal next week when May holds a meaningful vote. If the Parliament rejects the deal again, the UK will be given an extension only till April 12, according to Donald Tusk, the President of the European Council. (ANI)