4 Congress MLAs join BJP

Updated:1 year ago IST

Shillong (Meghalaya), Jan 02 (ANI): After rounds of predictions, four sitting Congress MLAs officially joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday in Shillong. The Congress leaders were welcomed in the saffron party during a programme in presence of Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Tourism K.J. Alphons and BJP National General Secretary Ram Madhav. The development comes ahead of Meghalaya assembly elections scheduled to be held in February. Earlier, eight MLAs, including several from the Congress Party, resigned from the state assembly and joined National People’s Party, an NDA ally.

Related Video