Ball tampering row: Australian Players will not play this year’s IPL, says Rajeev Shukla

Updated:10 months, 3 weeks ago IST

New Delhi, Mar 28 (ANI): IPL Chairman Rajeev Shukla said that the cricket franchise has decided to not allow former Australian skipper Steve Smith, vice-captain David Warner in the 2018 season of the IPL after their involvement in the alleged ball-tampering issue. He added that the IPL will get a replacement of these players. He said, “From day one we said we are not in haste. So we saw the reaction of ICC. We have decided according to what the ICC and Cricket Australia have recommended. We will first see the reaction of Cricket Australia and ICC as we are not in haste.” Former Australian skipper Steve Smith and vice-captain David Warner have reportedly been handed a 12-month suspension by Cricket Australia (CA) for their involvement in the ball-tampering scandal that took place during the third Test of the ongoing four-match series against South Africa in Cape Town.

Related Video